An Interview with IronBirds’ SS Mychal Givens

Mychal Givens, the IronBirds’ shortstop, stopped by for a pregame interview before Friday night’s season-opening win against the Hudson Valley Renegades. Six games into the season, Givens is batting .235 with four hits, two of them doubles, and three RBIs.

 

Question: You injured your thumb last year. Do you feel like that set you back at all?

Givens: Not really. I just kept my head up, stayed confident and came back here to Aberdeen to rehab, and then I went and played up at Frederick and had some success there, so it’s really about getting back in the saddle and getting back on track.

Question: Any long term effects from that injury?

Givens: No, it’s completely behind me now. I’m 100 % healthy now and ready to play.

Question: You were an everyday player for Delmarva this year. Tell us a little bit about your time there this year.

Givens: It was a great atmosphere, playing for Ryan Minor, Jose [NAME] and the coaching staff, as well as Troy [ NAME ], it was great having them and playing with Manny Machadoand made everything more comfortable and all the adjustments so I could play second base.
Question: You’ve played up and down the Orioles’ farm system- from the Gulf Coast league all the way up to Frederick. Assess where your career is right now.

Givens: I just look at it where you have to go out there and play. You can’t look at it like, ‘Where am I at?’, but you have to look toward the future and to get to the next level. Right now its about getting out there and having good games at the plate, cheering on your teammates and hopefully moving up as quick as possible.

Question: You’ve come from Delmarva after playing for two months. Most of the guys in this league are coming from extended spring training. Do you feel like you have an advantage there?

Givens: Well, they’ve been playing in extended [spring] and I’ve been playing at Delmarva, so it really is just another day at the baseball park, so that’s the way I look at it. It’s another day to get better and another day to put numbers up on the board.

Question: You got off to a slow start at the plate this season, but your bat is coming around. As a hitter, how do you get through an extended slump like that?

Givens: I spent a lot of time in the cage, but at the same time you have to have time to yourself to make sure you stay relaxed and are having fun. That’s the biggest thing I can say is to stay relaxed. I knew I would get through it- I’m a strong hitter and have a positive attitude, and I worked with Jose NAME and Ryan Minor and our rovers [roving instructors] and I’m back on the saddle ready to play.

Question: Do you feel any extra pressure being a second round pick?

Givens: I don’t really think about it. They picked me for a reason, and they have great confidence in me and I have great confidence in them and their decisisons, so I don’t look at it as pressure, but I look at my ultimate goal: to make it to the big leagues.

Question: You’ve had some success in your brief time here in Abderdeen. What was that like for you?

Givens: It was great. In my first at-bat, I hit a double. In my second at-bat, I hit a homerun. I had three homeruns within a week, so I had a great positive attitude and it was a great accomplishment for me after coming back from injury.

Questions: You played second base every day at Delmarva. Are you looking forward to moving across the infield and playing as an everyday shortstop?

Givens: I’ve been playing that since I was drafted. Wherever they put me on the field, I’ve been successful. If it will make the team better, I’ll go wherever they want me to play. Right now I’m playing short and I’ll do the best I can there. I’ll be an everyday utility guy, shortstop, second baseman, wherever they want me to play and whatever is good for them.

One thought on “An Interview with IronBirds’ SS Mychal Givens

Leave a comment